Encyclopedia Britannica

Please write your feedback and queries to glus@jgu.edu.in

Encyclopedia Britannica is a comprehensive academic digital resource that supports learning, teaching, and research across disciplines. It offers expertly curated content, diverse multimedia tools, and features designed to meet the needs of learners and educators at all academic levels. Accessible both on and off campus, it serves as an all-in-one platform for scholarly engagement.

Articles & Research Content: Britannica offers a vast, regularly updated collection of articles across subjects like law, business, arts, architecture, and international relations. Each includes citation tools (MLA, APA, Harvard, Chicago) and options to print, save, or share. Features like advanced search, “Year in Review,” article history, and translation into 100+ languages enhance accessibility and global usability.

Multimedia: Its rich library includes videos with transcripts, animations, and images with metadata and zoom. Tools like ImageQuest and themed categories support easy visual research.

Primary Sources & Journals: Offers e-books, academic/government documents, and journals via EBSCO—searchable and downloadable as PDFs with abstracts.

Biographies: Easily searchable by era, field, nationality, or gender, providing quick access to notable figures across disciplines.

Students can create Resource Packs to organize research and mark favourite content for easy access later.

Tools like the World Atlas and Compare Countries support geographic and sociopolitical understanding. JSTOR and Google Scholar are integrated for extended research.

Dictionary/Thesaurus: Powered by Merriam-Webster, this feature offers definitions, pronunciations, synonyms, and antonyms, all in one place.