This database is open access. There is no need for login credentials to access this database.
Please use the below link to access the database
ECOLEX
Please use the below link to access the database
ECOLEX
- Treaties : It is a written agreement between two or more countries or states. They are binding on the parties to the agreement. Once executed, treaties become part of international law. For example: Paris Agreement 2015. It includes 1476 bilateral and 706 multilateral treaties.
- Legislation : It includes laws and regulations that protect air quality, water, wildlife, and environmental health. You can access environmental legislation at all levels of government, from local to international.
- Jurisprudence : It includes all judgements passed by lower, higher and international courts all over the world on environmental issues.
| Level of Court | Number of Judgements |
| International courts | 269 |
| Higher Courts | 1722 |
| Lower Courts | 190 |
- Literature : It includes journal articles, book and book chapters, conference papers and documents published by government organisation of different countries.
ECOLEX is an information service that provides environmental law information. It is operated by the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (F.A.O.), the U.N. Environment Programme (UNEP), and the World Conservation Union (I.U.C.N.). The purpose of this database is to provide a comprehensive global source of information on Environmental law.
The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international and national legislation, policies, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document.
The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international and national legislation, policies, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document.
Environmental law has, over the past thirty years, become a recognized legal discipline, and a major tool for the achievement of environment and natural resources management in the context of sustainable development.
There is limited knowledge about the existence and location of these types of information and even if these information are available, access is limited. This is particularly the case in developing countries and countries with economies in transition, where government officials, practitioners, environmental managers, non-profit institutions and academia lack easy access to the legal information they need for developing the necessary legal tools to promote environmental management.
This database will act as single access platform for all legal documents and literature related to Environment Law.
There is limited knowledge about the existence and location of these types of information and even if these information are available, access is limited. This is particularly the case in developing countries and countries with economies in transition, where government officials, practitioners, environmental managers, non-profit institutions and academia lack easy access to the legal information they need for developing the necessary legal tools to promote environmental management.
This database will act as single access platform for all legal documents and literature related to Environment Law.
| Document type | Number | Year |
| Treaties | 2182 | 1868 to 2020 |
| Treaties Decision | 13321 | 1975 to 2021 |
| Legislation | 185235 | 1730 to 2021 |
| Jurisprudence | 2592 | 1868 to 2019 |
| Literature | 40676 | 1948 to 2023 |
- Documents are availaible in 53 languages including English and Hindi
- It covers 17 subjects like Agriculture, Air and Atmosphere, Energy, Fisheries, Food & Nutrition, Forestry, Land & Soil, Waste and Hazerdous substances and many others.
