The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is a comprehensive database of information on terrorist incidents and activities around the world, maintained by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) at the University of Maryland.
The database contains information on over 200,000 terrorist attacks that have occurred since 1970, including details such as the date, location, weapons used, and casualties. It also includes information on the groups responsible for the attacks, their goals and motivations, and any demands or messages they may have communicated.
Used widely by researchers, policymakers, and other stakeholders to analyze trends in terrorism, understand the factors that contribute to terrorist activity, and develop strategies for preventing and countering terrorism. It is also useful for journalists and the general public to stay informed about terrorist incidents and activities around the world.
The database contains information on over 200,000 terrorist attacks that have occurred since 1970, including details such as the date, location, weapons used, and casualties. It also includes information on the groups responsible for the attacks, their goals and motivations, and any demands or messages they may have communicated.
Used widely by researchers, policymakers, and other stakeholders to analyze trends in terrorism, understand the factors that contribute to terrorist activity, and develop strategies for preventing and countering terrorism. It is also useful for journalists and the general public to stay informed about terrorist incidents and activities around the world.
GTD Contains:
All these data can be downloaded by Government representatives or interested analysts by filling up the form
- Information on over 200,000 terrorist attacks.
- Major terrorist attacks happening in the world currently.
- Includes information on more than 88,000 bombings, 19,000 assassinations, and 11,000 kidnappings since 1970
- Includes information on at least 45 variables for each case, with more recent incidents including information on more than 120 variables
- More than 4,000,000 news articles and 25,000 news sources were reviewed to collect incident data from 1998 to 2017 alone
All these data can be downloaded by Government representatives or interested analysts by filling up the form