Media Cloud

You have to create a free account in Media Cloud using your email.

Step 1: Go to https://search.mediacloud.org/sign-up for free registration

Step 2: Enter the necessary details and click 'Sign Up'


 

Step 1: Go to https://www.mediacloud.org/

Step 2: Click on 'Log in'



Step 3: Enter the Username and password, and then click on 'Login'

Media Cloud (open-source) is a free and open-source media analysis tool that is used by researchers, journalists, and activists to track how news stories are reported and to identify trends in media coverage. It does this by crawling and archiving hundreds of newspapers and thousands of websites and blogs.

Media Cloud is a consortium research project across multiple institutions, including the University of Massachusetts Amherst, Northeastern University, the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine, and the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University.

Media Cloud provides a number of features that are useful for media analysis, including:

• A searchable index of news articles.
• Tools for filtering and analyzing news articles by topic, date, source, and other criteria.
• Tools for visualizing news coverage over time.
• Tools for identifying trends in news coverage.

• Tracking how news stories are reported by different media outlets.
• Identifying trends in media coverage of specific topics.
• Studying the framing of news stories.
• Examining the relationship between news coverage and public opinion.

After logging into Media Cloud, click on the search button.

You can run your queries for online news through Media Cloud, Internet Archive's Wayback Machine, and YouTube. 



 

Step 1: enter any search phrase or keyword. You can add multiple keywords.



Step 2: Select the collection. You can select collections based on geographical are and sources. Collection should be selected to narrow down the results. The query can be run even if any collection is not selected.





Step 3: Select the date range.



Step 4: Click 'Search' to run the query. 

Click 'Add Query' option to create multiple query search boxes. You can search with  different topics in these queries.




You can give name to the Query box. Just click on the three dots next to the Query tab and select 'Edit Tab Name',

Click 'Save Search' to save the search term for future reference.

In order to load a previously saved query, click on 'Load Save Search'.



 

Compare the attention paid to your queries over time to understand how they are covered. This chart shows the number of stories that match each of your queries. Spikes in attention can reveal key events. Plateaus can reveal stable, "normal" attention levels.

Compare the total number of items that matched your queries.

You can access sample of the content that matched your queries. These results are a random sample of news stories that matched your searches.

Step 1: Go to 'Profile'                                                           

                                 


Step 2: Click on 'Delete Account'