Collections
https://www.who.int/archives/collections- Stamp collection: WHO has always had close links with stamp collecting. Since it was set up, numerous stamps have been issued in order to put messages across to the population.
- Numismatic collection: WHO has received and issued medals and coins throughout its history. They are issued to reward good deeds and to commemorate significant achievements.
- Sound collection: The archives keep sound recordings of some major events in the history of WHO including the New York Conference in 1946.
- Oral history: Oral History project is endeavouring to create and present the institution's oral history by interviewing retired staff members who played an important role in WHO. These interviews supplement the more formal written sources.
- Former staff history: Former WHO staff members share their experiences and writings during their terms in office at WHO.
List of fonds
- Archives of the Office International d'Hygiène Publique (OIHP): 1907-1946
- Archives of the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA) : 1943-1946
- Archives of the League of Nations, Health Section Files : 1933-1946
- Archives of the Smallpox Eradication Programme: 1948-1986
- Archives of the Parasitology Collection of the Communicable Diseases Documentation Centre at WHO Headquarters : 1911-2003
- Centralized files: 1946 ->
- Photographic Archives: 1951-1994
- Archives on the Construction of the Headquarters building: 1950 ->
- WHO Media and Films Archives: 1953-1989
- "Project Files" Archives: 1945-1986
URL: https://www.who.int/archives/fonds
- For more information about who we are, what we do and where we work.
- For more on health related issues visit our health topics pages.
Publications
Visit our publications pages to search for or to order WHO publications.Media enquiries
Visit our newsroom to access our media products and contact a communication officer.
M Madhan
- Library Director
- madhan@jgu.edu.in
- 130 1845
Anupama Verma
- Assistant Manager
- anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in
- 130
Are you interested to know about the history and administration of WHO? We will suggest you go through the World Health Organization Archive (WHOA). You may find it more interesting.
About WHO
ØWe champion health and a better future for all:
Dedicated to the well-being of all people and guided by science, the World Health Organization leads and champions global efforts to give everyone, everywhere an equal chance to live a healthy life.ØWho we are:
Founded in 1948, WHO is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health.ØWhat we do
WHO leads global efforts to expand universal health coverage. We direct and coordinate the world’s response to health emergencies. And we promote healthier lives – from pregnancy care through old age. Our Triple Billion targets outline an ambitious plan for the world to achieve good health for all using science-based policies and programmes.ØWhere we work
Working with 194 Member States across 6 regions and on the ground in 150+ locations, the WHO team works to improve everyone’s ability to enjoy good health and well-beingØWho we work with
Collaboration is at the heart of all we do. From governments and civil society to international organizations, foundations, advocates, researchers and health workers, we mobilize every part of society to advance the health and security of all.The mission of the Records and Archives service is to manage and preserve the current and semi-active records and historical archives of WHO.
A. Archives:
The WHO Archives conserve more than 3 linear kilometres of documents which have acquired administrative, legal, historic and cultural value. They are WHO's institutional memory and trace the Organization's history.
The WHO Archives preserves the historically valuable documents produced by WHO and also by organizations involved in international health prior to the foundation of WHO. The Archives holds mainly textual paper documents, such as correspondence, reports and certificates, as well as numerous photographs and some sound recordings. For reasons of confidentiality, most documents may be consulted only after a 20-year period.
B. Records:
The WHO Records unit mainly handles active records, such as documents used by the different units of WHO for their current work. These include correspondence, contracts and statistical reports. For this reason, they are still covered by the 20-year confidentiality rule. Very few of these records are available to outside researchers.
WHO records comprise correspondence, contracts, minutes, studies, travel and mission reports, etc.
Show less Show more
Due to the closure of WHO headquarters main building for renovation works, physical access to the WHO Archives is limited at least up to the end of 2024. Requests for physical access will be supported to the extent possible, but numbers of visitors will be severely reduced during this period.
WHO headquarters building: laying the corner stone (1962)
The foundation stone of WHO's headquarters building was laid during a ceremony on 24 May 1962 on the building site "En Choutagnes", at Pregny, on the outskirts of Geneva. The building, designed by architect Jean Tschumi of Lausanne, Switzerland, was finished in 1966.
Pictured at the ceremony are Dr Sergei V Kurashov, Minister of Health of the USSR and President of the 15th World Health Assembly (left) shaking hands with Dr Marcolino G Candau, WHO Director-General, while Dr Rodolphe Coigney, WHO Protocol Officer (right) looks on.
The WHO Archives conserve more than 3 linear kilometres of documents which have acquired administrative, legal, historic and cultural value. They are WHO's institutional memory and trace the Organization's history.
The WHO Archives preserves the historically valuable documents produced by WHO and also by organizations involved in international health prior to the foundation of WHO. The Archives holds mainly textual paper documents, such as correspondence, reports and certificates, as well as numerous photographs and some sound recordings. For reasons of confidentiality, most documents may be consulted only after a 20-year period.
B. Records:
The WHO Records unit mainly handles active records, such as documents used by the different units of WHO for their current work. These include correspondence, contracts and statistical reports. For this reason, they are still covered by the 20-year confidentiality rule. Very few of these records are available to outside researchers.
WHO records comprise correspondence, contracts, minutes, studies, travel and mission reports, etc.
Archives of the Regional Offices:
The WHO Regional Offices also keep archives on their work. If required, the Records and Archives service at Headquarters will get in touch with them.Show less Show more
Due to the closure of WHO headquarters main building for renovation works, physical access to the WHO Archives is limited at least up to the end of 2024. Requests for physical access will be supported to the extent possible, but numbers of visitors will be severely reduced during this period.
Featured photo from the archives
WHO headquarters building: laying the corner stone (1962)
The foundation stone of WHO's headquarters building was laid during a ceremony on 24 May 1962 on the building site "En Choutagnes", at Pregny, on the outskirts of Geneva. The building, designed by architect Jean Tschumi of Lausanne, Switzerland, was finished in 1966.
Pictured at the ceremony are Dr Sergei V Kurashov, Minister of Health of the USSR and President of the 15th World Health Assembly (left) shaking hands with Dr Marcolino G Candau, WHO Director-General, while Dr Rodolphe Coigney, WHO Protocol Officer (right) looks on.
WHO Library: The WHO Library is the world’s leading library on public health. It provides access to knowledge from WHO as well as to other sources of scientific literature produced around the world.
The WHO Library is the world’s leading library on public health. It provides access to knowledge from WHO as well as to other sources of scientific literature produced around the world. WHO Library resources and expertise also provide scientific evidence and knowledge to low- and middle- income countries through a set of low-cost/high-use initiatives.
Networks and partnerships are an essential component in ensuring that our global initiatives reach a world-wide audience. Using a suite of collaborative tools, librarians and information specialists have a close understanding of country realities and needs. This helps keep focus on adequate and cost-effective information and knowledge sharing solutions.
The WHO Library holds and stores all the published information produced by WHO, including proceedings of the World Health Assembly and Executive Board, monographs, periodicals, unpublished technical documents, press releases, fact sheets and administrative documents of the governing bodies.
The WHO Library is the world’s leading library on public health. It provides access to knowledge from WHO as well as to other sources of scientific literature produced around the world. WHO Library resources and expertise also provide scientific evidence and knowledge to low- and middle- income countries through a set of low-cost/high-use initiatives.
Networks and partnerships are an essential component in ensuring that our global initiatives reach a world-wide audience. Using a suite of collaborative tools, librarians and information specialists have a close understanding of country realities and needs. This helps keep focus on adequate and cost-effective information and knowledge sharing solutions.
The WHO Library holds and stores all the published information produced by WHO, including proceedings of the World Health Assembly and Executive Board, monographs, periodicals, unpublished technical documents, press releases, fact sheets and administrative documents of the governing bodies.
Welcome to WHO Library and Digital Information Networks
A. Online Databases: B. More Resources:
1. Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS): IRIS is the digital library of WHO’s published material and technical information in full text produced since 1948. Its content is freely accessible and searchable in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian & Spanish).
2. Research4Life: Research4Life provides institutions in lower income countries with online access to academic and professional peer-reviewed content. We aim to improve teaching, research and policy-making in health, agriculture, the environment and other life, physical and social sciences.
3. Global Index Medicus: The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides universal access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low- and middle-income countries.
- Headlines
- Statement by Principals of the Inter-Agency Standing Committee – Stop the assault on Palestinians in Gaza and on those trying to help them
- Global Model WHO youth delegates urge swift action on pandemic prevention, preparedness and response
- Quadripartite partners organize High-Level One Health meeting in collaboration with Brazil's Ministry of Health at the G20 Summit
Distinction between library collections, archives and current records
The WHO Archives preserves the historically valuable documents produced by WHO units and also by organizations involved in international health prior to the foundation of WHO.The WHO Records unit mainly handles active records, i.e. documents used by the different units of WHO for their current work. They comprise correspondence, contracts and statistical reports.
The WHO Library holds and stores all the published information produced by WHO, including proceedings of the World Health Assembly and Executive Board, monographs, periodicals, unpublished technical documents, press releases, fact sheets and administrative documents of the governing bodies.
In every case, it is advisable to conduct initial research in the library.
- Publications:
- Browse WHO's publications
B. WHOLIS: WHO Geneva Library print catalogue:
- All library collections in print are included in an unified database
- WHO Internships
- Search strategies
- Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/WHO
- Twitter : https://www.twitter.com/WHO
- Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/who
- LinkedIn : https://www.linkedin.com/company/world-health-organization
- YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/user/who?sub_confirmation=1
- SnapChat : https://www.snapchat.com/add/who
- TikTok : https://www.tiktok.com/@who
- Pinterest : https://www.pinterest.com/worldhealthorganization
- WhatsApp : https://wa.me/41798931892?text=hi or click here for more information.