You can use Westlaw from anywhere, whether on campus or remote.
To access it on campus, go to the Global Library website and click on Westlaw. Remember to connect to the campus Wi-Fi.
If you're in remote, go to the Remotlog portal and log in using your JGU email.
Watch these short videos to learn how to do it.
To access it on campus, go to the Global Library website and click on Westlaw. Remember to connect to the campus Wi-Fi.
If you're in remote, go to the Remotlog portal and log in using your JGU email.
Watch these short videos to learn how to do it.
It is an online legal database product of Thomson Reuters that combines Indian and foreign legal content in an extremely thorough way with a user-friendly layout. The legal research service offers easy access to the legal systems of nations like the UK, EU, US, Canada, Singapore, and India. This platform provides a thorough collection of Cases, Laws, Journals, and Current Awareness of Indian, UK, and EU Material in a searchable and browsable style.
Case Law: also known as common law, is a body of law that is created by judges through their decisions in individual cases. It can also be used to identify legal principles and develop new law areas. This platform provides case law of various countries like India, Hong Kong, Australia, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and the United Kingdom.
Legislation: It is the process or result of enrolling, enacting, or declaring laws by a legislature, parliament, or analogous governing body.
Commentary: Our library only has access to Personl Injury Quantum Tables under Malaysia Titles among the commentaries.
Journals : Our library includes access to 129 journal titles from the United Kingdom and 12 titles from Hong Kong in addition to 9 journal titles from well-known Indian law schools like NALSAR, NLSIU, NLU, and NUJS.
Legislation: It is the process or result of enrolling, enacting, or declaring laws by a legislature, parliament, or analogous governing body.
Commentary: Our library only has access to Personl Injury Quantum Tables under Malaysia Titles among the commentaries.
Journals : Our library includes access to 129 journal titles from the United Kingdom and 12 titles from Hong Kong in addition to 9 journal titles from well-known Indian law schools like NALSAR, NLSIU, NLU, and NUJS.
- ProView's powerful search and filtering features make it easy to find the content you need. You can search by keyword, title, author, or publication date.
- You can take notes and highlights in your ProView eBooks.
- You can bookmark pages in your ProView eBooks. This is a great way to keep track of your progress or to refer back to specific passages
The best way to read e-books from Thomson Reuters platform is through Proview.
Thomson Reuters Proview is a digital platform for reading eBooks. It provides access to the collection of eBooks, including textbooks, reference materials, and professional books on legal, accounting, human resources, and tax professions.
Around 100 titles are availaible on this platform
You did not need credentials to access Proview if you are on campus.
Please click here to access Proview.
Please click here to access Proview.
Westlaw Classic and Westlaw Asia are both legal research databases offered by Thomson Reuters. However, they have one basic difference i.e. Geographic coverage.
Westlaw Asia is specifically designed to provide legal research and resources for the Asian region, including countries such as China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, India, and others.
On the other hand, Westlaw Classic has a broader focus and covers a wide range of jurisdictions, including the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, European Union, Australia, and more. It provides access to extensive legal databases from multiple countries
Westlaw Asia is specifically designed to provide legal research and resources for the Asian region, including countries such as China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, India, and others.
On the other hand, Westlaw Classic has a broader focus and covers a wide range of jurisdictions, including the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, European Union, Australia, and more. It provides access to extensive legal databases from multiple countries
| Federal Cases | State Cases |
| Cases that involve the U.S. government, the U.S. Constitution, federal laws, diversity of citizenship, or federal crimes | All other cases, including criminal cases that violate state law, civil cases that involve state law, family law cases, probate cases, and property law cases |
| There are 94 federal district courts, 13 federal courts of appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court. | Each state has its own court system, which typically includes trial courts, appellate courts, and a supreme court |
Arbitration : It includes arbitration awards, rules and cases of United States and awards and rules at international level. This platform also providing profiles of Arbitrator
Global Competition and Antitrust: is a field of law that deals with the prevention of anti-competitive practices in the global marketplace. This portal offers legislation and laws on international competition and antitrust in countries including Australia, the United States, the United Kingdom, and Europe.
Business Law Center : It contains SEC Filings, EDGAR Agreements, Company Transactions and other administrative materials.
Global Competition and Antitrust: is a field of law that deals with the prevention of anti-competitive practices in the global marketplace. This portal offers legislation and laws on international competition and antitrust in countries including Australia, the United States, the United Kingdom, and Europe.
Business Law Center : It contains SEC Filings, EDGAR Agreements, Company Transactions and other administrative materials.
Westlaw Classic is a top product from Westlaw and a leading provider of legal research solutions. This platform provides access to a vast collection of legal information and resources from the United States, including case law, statutes, regulations, and secondary sources
- It covers 50 states of the United States
- All Canadian Cases and Board & Tribunal Decisions
- All European Union Cases, Legislation, Treaties and Preparatory Acts
Cases : All the cases are arranged by Federal, 50 States, 12 Circuits and various legal topics like Antitrust, Civil rights, Criminal, Bankruptcy, etc.
Trial Court Order : A trial court order refers to a decision or ruling issued by a judge or court in a trial court. Trial courts are the initial courts where legal cases are heard and evidence is presented. Its coverage begins with 2001.
Dockets: Docket is a list of cases that are pending in a court. It contains dockets filed in the United States District Courts from January 1, 2000 through the present. Newly filed U.S. District Court dockets are obtained daily and then updated 45 days subsequent to filing to obtain additional attorney and party information.
Rules and Regulation: Full text of Rules & Regulations, Proposed Rules, Executive Orders, and Presidential Documents, with coverage going back two years, that have been made available for publication in the Federal Register by administrative agencies of the United States government. For all 50 states and the District of Columbia, the complete text of recently enacted and proposed rules and regulations is available, with coverage going back two years.
Trial Court Order : A trial court order refers to a decision or ruling issued by a judge or court in a trial court. Trial courts are the initial courts where legal cases are heard and evidence is presented. Its coverage begins with 2001.
Dockets: Docket is a list of cases that are pending in a court. It contains dockets filed in the United States District Courts from January 1, 2000 through the present. Newly filed U.S. District Court dockets are obtained daily and then updated 45 days subsequent to filing to obtain additional attorney and party information.
Rules and Regulation: Full text of Rules & Regulations, Proposed Rules, Executive Orders, and Presidential Documents, with coverage going back two years, that have been made available for publication in the Federal Register by administrative agencies of the United States government. For all 50 states and the District of Columbia, the complete text of recently enacted and proposed rules and regulations is available, with coverage going back two years.
- American Law Reports : American Law Reports organize, summarize, and analyze pertinent federal and state caselaw on particular legal issues. Each article reviews the cases discussing the relevant point of law.
- CLE & Seminar Materials : CLE stands for Continuing Legal Education. These materials can include PowerPoint presentations, handouts, case studies, and other types of documents. CLE materials are typically provided by the CLE provider, such as a law school, bar association, or other organization. Around 43 materials are availaible.
- Jury Instructions: Jury instructions are a set of legal guidelines given by a judge to a jury in a court of law. They are an important procedural step in a trial by jury, and as such are a cornerstone of criminal process in many common law countries. It includes 94 materials.
- KeyRules: It is a legal research tool that provides attorneys, paralegals, and other legal professionals with the information they need to draft, file, and serve court documents quickly and correctly. It includes Keyrules of 26 states in this platform.
- Law Review & Journals : 1005 law review and journals are availaible on this platform on various topics like Administrative Law, Antitrust, Civil Law, Criminal Law and many others.