As a law student, you are likely aware of the importance of legal treatises in the development of legal theory and practice. These works provide valuable insight into the legal concepts and arguments that have shaped the legal landscape over time. The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises Database is a comprehensive collection of historic legal treatises from the United States and Europe, covering a range of legal topics and historical periods.
You can gain access to a wealth of information that can help deepen your understanding of legal concepts and theories. The database provides a platform for legal scholars, historians, and researchers to explore the evolution of legal thought and practice over time.
These historical legal treaties and agreements have been sourced from the world's leading law libraries. These include:
You can gain access to a wealth of information that can help deepen your understanding of legal concepts and theories. The database provides a platform for legal scholars, historians, and researchers to explore the evolution of legal thought and practice over time.
These historical legal treaties and agreements have been sourced from the world's leading law libraries. These include:
- The Harvard Law School Library
- Yale University Library
- The Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History at York University
- Columbia University Law Library and 21 other institutions in the United States
You can access Making of Modern Law : Legal Treaties from anywhere, whether you are on campus or remote location.
To access it on campus, Click on Making of Modern Law : Legal Treaties. Remember to connect to the campus Wi-Fi.
If you're off-campus, go to the Remotlog portal and log in using your JGU email. Then select Making of Modern Law : Legal Treaties.
To access it on campus, Click on Making of Modern Law : Legal Treaties. Remember to connect to the campus Wi-Fi.
If you're off-campus, go to the Remotlog portal and log in using your JGU email. Then select Making of Modern Law : Legal Treaties.
The database includes over 22,000 legal titles, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, and more. These materials cover a wide range of legal topics, including contracts, property, torts, civil procedure, criminal law, and more. The database also includes materials from the United States and Europe, spanning from the colonial era to the early 20th century.
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 is based on both bibliographic sources and advisor/selector recommendations, and includes titles on topics such as:
- administration of justice and administrative law
- agriculture
- bankruptcy
- biography
- business law
- commercial law
- communications, regulated utilities and trades and crafts
- constitutional law
- contracts
- copyright
- family law
- intellectual law
- international law
- jurisprudence
- labor and social welfare
- legal education
- legal history
- legal profession
- legislature
- local government, civil service, and judicial assistance
- maritime law
- medical jurisprudence
- military justice
- national defense
- natural resources
- politics and government
- probate or notariat, obligations, practice and private law
- procedural law
- public law, education, health and land use planning
- public property
- real property
- reference works and bibliographies
- religion
- taxation and public finance
- torts
- transportation
- trials
- trusts and estate