Site Under Construction
Research Guides

SCC Online

How to access SCC Online® from the JGU campus
Remote access to SCC Online®
What is SCC Online®?
Primary and Secondary authority
Primary authority (Wex, LII, Cornell Law School) - 'Statements that come directly from a legislature, a court, or another body with official capacity to issue or clarify rules for its jurisdiction.'

Secondary authority (Wex, LII, Cornell Law School) - 'Statements that come from unofficial commendators without authority to set legal rules in the relevant jurisdiction.'
Data coverage

For more details regarding data coverage: https://www.scconline.com/data-coverage
Training and Orientation
Statutory Laws
Acts in the database

Articles: 1-395
Schedules: 1-12
Amendment Acts: 1-105th (1951-2021)
Constitutional Order: 1-273 (1950-2019)

State and Central Acts in Database;
Central 1772
State 624

Central Acts: A total of 1772 are arranged alphabetically.

State Acts: A total of 624 Acts from 30 states, arranged state-wise alphabetically.

 
Judgements
It covers judgments of the following government organizations:
  • Supreme Courts from 1950 onwards along with High Courts and District Courts
  • Federal Court (1938 onwards ) and Privy Council ( 1807 onwards)
  • 14 Historical Courts like Allahabad, Ajmer, Lahore, Oudh, etc.
  • Judgemets of 38 Indian tribunals and commissions
  • Primarly SCC online is a database of judgements pronouced in Indian courts including the historical courts  (e. g. Allahabad, Ajmer, Goa, Lahore, etc.). 
  • It covers the Supream court judgements pronounced since 1950.
  • It also covers the Privy Council Judgments from 1872.

Statutory
tribunals & commissions; Indian Statutory Law including central statutes, circulars, notifications, instructions, rules, regulations etc
 
Parliamentary Bills:

Bills introduced in Lok Sabha (since 1959)
Bills introduced in Rajya Sabha (since 1990-2022)

Bills Passed by Lok Sabha (since 2006)
Bills Passed by Rajya Sabha (since 2007-2021)


 
Tagore Law Lectures
The Tagore Law Lectures are an annual lecture series organised and hosted by the University of Calcutta, in India.

https://archive.org/details/hindulawbeingtre01coweuoft

The series is named after Prasanna Kumar Tagore
Total collection 39 from 1870-1942 (some of the years are missing 1876, 1880)
Treaties
The database includes treaties of the Indian Government and has also arranged these treaties alphabetically from A-Y.

While the 1950 Indo-Nepal Treaty of Peace and Friendship is the oldest Indian treaty, the database also contains it.

There are 432 bilateral treaties Dating from 1963-2021 and no multilateral treaties in our subscribed list.
Reports
There are 5 types of reports available.
  1. DAKSH — Approaches to Justice in India (2017)
  2. DAKSH — State of the Indian Judiciary (2016)
  3. JUSTICE ADDA — Designing Socially Responsible Law Firms in India
  4. NLS — The Elusive Island of Excellence
  5. NUJS — Diversity Report 2019
Secondary Materials
All the sources are useful for building an opinion on a particular topic, or as a description of the law. These sources are useful as a starting point for legal research. Secondary sources are not the law itself, but they are opinions, commentaries, and discussions. In the browse secondary materials option, you can find Bills in parliament, constitutional documents, historical trials, policy documents, and Reports of commissions and committees.
 
Constitutional Documents include:
constituent Assembly Debates (all 12 volumes including the index from 1946 to 1950)
constitutional acts: government of India act-1915, 1919, 1935
 
Historical trials of Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Maharaja Nand Kumar and Sir Roger Casement
 
Policy documents related to the policies introduced by central and state governments on various administrative areas.
 
Reports of commissions and committees: these include reports to guide, advise or provide solutions to various issues coming under the concerned ministry. Consists of reports from Permanent commissions and Ad hoc commissions.
Journals Search
SCC online stored 71 Journal databases published all over India.
It stores India's one of the oldest journal called "Law weekly" (1914-2016) founded by late Sri V. C. Seshachariar.

According to SCC blog report Blog Law Review Rankings [February, ’22]



Note : India's oldest journals (Labour Law Journal, Madras Law Journal (CIVIL)) are accessible through Lexis Advanced.

 
How to find Overruled Law Point on SCC Online
Moot Competition
It is a simulated court appearance where practitioners analyse a situation, look for pertinent legal precedents, prepare written arguments, and deliver oral arguments. Unsettled/ recent legal issues are generally topic of moot court discussions.
  • SCC database contains 41 different Indian law school competition records.
  • One good example could be National Moot Court Competition, 2022 at Symbiosis Law School ( Data Protection Act, 2021)
Related Source
Open source Oyez Project covers only Mp3 audio file from 1995- present.
One step to your legal research
Use the search features of the database if you are just browsing or has the citation of any judgments. The party’s name can be the name of the appellant or respondent. If the name of the party is any of the organizations, it will be better if you search with both names and their abbreviated forms like Central Board of Secondary Education or C.B.S.E.

You can also search for judgment of any famous case name through the option of “Search by Famous Case Names”

If you have a case citation, find the case by the court. Go to Judgments find the Court and select the date of the judgment. You will find list of judgments passed on the following dates making it easier for you to get accurate results in a knick of time.
SCC Online's full Legal Search
Searching in SCC Online
The database provides the user to browse through important information which have been categorized according to the area of research. The research area has been categorized into 13 key research areas such as; Constitutional law, public law, corporate law, Intellectual property, Arbitration, conciliation & mediation, environmental law, infrastructural law, taxation, Service law, Labour & employment law, family & personal law, criminal law, and international law. These areas of research include case laws, statutory laws, rules & regulations, articles, and other secondary materials. All of these are handpicked by the EBC editorial team on the account of the respective areas of research.
Find your citations
Easy search in SCC Online
Advanced Search
Topic And Statutes Guide
Secondary Materials
All the sources are useful for building an opinion on a particular topic or as a description of the law. These sources are useful as a starting point for legal research. Secondary sources are not the law itself, but they are opinions, commentaries, and discussions which are also provided in the database.  
It covers judgments of the following government organizations