Nelson Mandela Foundation Archives

WEBSITE

Website Link:
https://archive.nelsonmandela.org/

Collection Link:
Private and Personal Papers

Speeches

Mandela Materials Database

Nelson Mandela Tributes

TIMING

Monday to Friday, 09:00 am to 04:00 pm excluding public holidays.

Need Help !

I hope this helps in making use of this Archive a little easier! If you have any questions, you are than welcome to email me –anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in

CONTACT DETAILS

Phone: +27 (0)11 547 5600

Email: archive@nelsonmandela.org

PREPARED BY:

Anupama Verma

Librarians

M Madhan

Library Director
madhan@jgu.edu.in
130 1845

Anupama Verma

Assistant Manager
anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in
130

INTRODUCTION

Are you interested in knowing about the first president of South Africa, Nelson Mandela? We suggest you go through the Nelson Mandela Foundation Archives. You may find it more interesting.

The Nelson Mandela Foundation has in its custody an archive of the life and time, works and writings of its Founder, the late Mr. Nelson Mandela. The physical collections include the handwritten papers, official records and unique artefacts from the personal archive of Nelson Mandela in addition to records from the Office of Nelson Mandela after his retirement as President of South Africa in 1999, and the records of related significant organisations and individuals.

COLLECTION

The Mandela archive is fragmented and scattered all over the world in various places. Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory does not seek to gather all of this under its roof. Instead, the focus is to document where it is and to enter into partnerships to ensure that it is preserved and accessible. However, a small amount has been collected since the establishment of the Centre of Memory in 2004, which has been categorised into the below archive groups and special collections.

1. Archive groups

Records from the Office of Nelson Mandela : ZA COM NMOP – his office at the NMF
Nelson Mandela’s personal archives : ZA COM NMPP
Nelson Mandela Associated Papers : ZA COM NMAP – Records of organisations and individuals related to the life and times of Nelson Mandela
Nelson Mandela Gifts and Awards Collection : ZA COM NMG – gifts and awards received by Mr Mandela mainly from 1999 onwards

2. Records of the Nelson Mandela Foundation

The Nelson Mandela Foundation Papers : ZA COM NMFP
46664 records : ZA COM FSSSF – these are mainly the recordings of the various concerts and some organisational records

The Nelson Mandela Foundation Gift and Awards Collection

3. Special collections

4. The Reference Collection : ZA COM Ref

Anthony Sampson books : ZA COM ASColl
Foreign language books : ZA COM FLB
Autograph books : ZA COM AutoB
Reference books : ZA COM RCB
Audiovisual autograph : ZA COM AutoAV
Audiovisual references : ZA COM Ref-RCAV
Audiovisual tributes : ZA COM AV-Trib

5. Mandela Resources

Anti-Apartheid Movement Archives : ZA COM MR-AAO – an overview of archival records of anti-apartheid activities/organisations
Mandela Materials : ZA COM MM – a guide to the Mandela archive held elsewhere, other than the Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory
Rivonia Trial : MR-RT – an audit of the location of the scattered archive
Speeches : ZA COM MR-S – consists of interviews, speeches, addresses, messages, media releases, testimony, lectures, toasts, tributes, oaths and declarations made by Nelson Mandela
Tributes : ZA COM MR-T – consists of tributes, honours and awards bestowed on Nelson Mandela. It includes tributes he received while in prison, after his release, while he was President of South Africa, during his retirement and posthumously
Bibliography : ZA COM MR-B – consists of the books and reference material on and by Nelson Mandela
Filmography : ZA COM MR-F – consists of the numerous documentaries, feature films and news specials on Nelson Mandela

ACCESSIBILITY AND MEMBERSHIP

Researchers and academics who wish to consult our records can contact us vai email

SUBJECT COVERAGE

PUBLICATION

ADDRESS

Razia Saleh, Head: Archive and Research
Private Bag X70000, Houghton, 2041
South Africa

MAP

Nelson Mandela Foundation Archive Social Media handle

JGU Library is not liable for violating the Copyrights. We are trying to guide you on how to access and use the archives.