Archives of Indian Labour

Website Link:
Archives of Indian Labour


Collection Link:
https://indianlabourarchives.org/

1. Gandhi and Labour
2. All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)
3. Commissions on Labour (1929-2002)
4. International Labour Organisatio (India Office) (ILO 1929-1969)
5. Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS)
6. Self Employed Women's Association (SEWA)
7. Labour in the Indian Textile and Apparel Industry
8. All India Railwaymen's Fedration (AIRF)
9. Documentary Sources of Labour History in Tamilnadu

 

09:30 a.m to 06.00 p.m.
Monday to Friday on all working days during

I hope this helps in making use of this Archive a little easier! If you have any questions, you are  than welcome to email me –anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in

Phone: 91-120-2411469
Email: ilhrpnli@gmail.com

Anupama Verma

The Archives of Indian Labour was set up in July, 1998 as a collaborative project of the V.V. Giri National Labour Institute and the Association of Indian Labour Historians. The Archives was instituted in order to address the urgent need for preservation of rapidly decaying documents and material on labour and to provide for greater public access to these. Documents related to the labour movement (generated by workers' organisations, state and business enterprises) are preserved at the archives, in addition to personal narratives, memoirs, video and audio material. The archives combine this effort with an effective public dissemination system of which the offline and on-line access to the digital archives is a major component. Seminars, working papers, film shows, and publications ensure effective ways of disseminating information generated by the archives and other research programmes. The core activities of the archives are, thus:

• Digital Archiving
• Research and Collection
• Public Interface and Dissemination

 

AIL collections include records and reports of all the Commissions of Labour from 1931 till 1991 (including the complete collection on the First National Commission on Labour, 1969); records and publications of central trade unions such as AITUC, BMS, CITU and INTUC; records and reports on the unorganized sector labour movement in regional centres. A large number of interviews of workers and labour activists and documents of labour movement in the informal sector can also be accessed.
A complete list of the collections available with the Archive is below:

1. Bombay Textile Strike of 1982 
2. The Unorganised Workers of Delhi and the Seven-Day Strike of 1988 
3. Directory of Sources on Labour History: Delhi Region 
4. Collection & Inventory of Records on All India Railwaymens’ Federation 1955-85 
5. Organisation, Collection & Documentation of AITUC Records (1937-1985) 
6. Oral History Documentation of Indian Labour Movement Phase-I
7. Documentation of Industrial and Dependent Labour Lives in Delhi: An Oral History Approach 
8. Documenting the Source Material on Labour History of Tamil Nadu from the holdings at Roja Muthiah Research Library, Chennai 
9. Collection and Documentation of Sources of Labour History in Tamil Nadu Phase-I 
10. Trade union Movement in Film Industry of South India 
11. Collection and Documentation of Sources of Labour History in Tamil Nadu Phase-II 
12. Oral History Documentation of Indian Labour Movement Phase-II 
13. Struggle for Justice: Chattisgarh Mukti Morcha
14. The Informalisation process: Casualisation & Paupersation of the Weavers of Banaras
15. Oral History Documentation on Railway Workers 
16. History of Industrial Relations in Textile Sector in India 
17. Organisation of Source Material and Construction of Digital Collection on SEWA
18. Collection of Documentary sources of Labour History in Tamilnadu Phase –III 
19. Oral History Documentation of Indian Labour Movement Phase – III 
20. Documentation of the History of Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh
21. Research and Collection of Documents on Interaction of Caste Movement and Working Class during 1920 to 1945 in Maharashtra 
22. Present and past of the community- based garment industry in 24 Paraganas (south) of West Bengal
23. Study and Collection of Documents of the National Campaign of Construction Workers for a Central Legislation form 1985
24. From Leather Artisans to Brick-Kiln Workers: Narratives of Weary Travellers
25. Collection of History of Coal Workers with special emphasis on Impact of Outsourcing 
26. Documentation and Collection of Records/ Materials of Bharatiya Khet Mazdoor Union (BKMU), states/local khet mazdoor organisations and agricultural labour movement in general 
27. Organisation of Source Material and Construction of Digital Collection of BIDI Workers of Ahmedabad City 
28. Making of labour law and collective bargaining traditions: Kamani Employees Union and the independent trade union movement in Mumbai 
29. Labour in the Indian Textile & Apparel Industry: Understanding the Impact of Government Policies 
30. Textile Labour History of Indore Town 
31. Bhojpuri Pravasi Shramikon ki Sansakrati Aur Bhikhari Thakur ka Sahitya
32. Accidents and Work: The Everyday Lives at Jharia Coalfield and Oral History Documents 
33. Contested Streets-Mapping Street Vending in Delhi 
34. Documents of the Records and Materials of Bharatiya Khet Mazdoor Union (BKMU), State and Local Khet Mazdoor Organizations, and of the Agricultural Labourers’ Movement-Phase II (Pre- and Post-Independence Period) 

Archives of Indian Labour
Integrated Labour History Research Programme
V.V.Giri National Labour Institute
Sector 24, Noida
Uttar Pradesh, PIN: 201 301