Directorate of Archives and Archaeology, Goa

Website Link:
Directorate of Archives and Archaeology, Goa

Collection Link:
Archaeology
List of Protected Monuments
Detailsof Protected Monuments
Featured Mnouments

09:30 a.m to 06.00 p.m.
Monday to Friday on all working days during

I hope this helps in making use of this Archive a little easier! If you have any questions, you are  than welcome to email me –anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in

Contact Person : Smt. Blossom Medeira, Director
Ph: +91-832-2226692, +91-832-2435321
Email: dir-arch.goa@nic.in

Anupama Verma

The Directorate of Archives and Archaeology is the oldest Archives in the country. Established on 25th February 1595 by the famous historian Diogo do Couto, who was also its first record keeper, the Archive was named as “Torre do Tombo do Estado da India”. The oldest Portuguese record is of the year 1498.
 

 

DOAA contains source material relating to the history of European expansion in Asia & Africa especially the rise, fall and decay of the Portuguese seaborne empire of India (1510-1961) and the attempts made by the Asian & African powers to oust the Europeans from Asia & Africa. Besides, there are records pertaining to Village Communities, a good collection of files pertaining to the freedom struggle of Goa, registers of Baptism, Birth & Death, Deeds & Wills as well as some very useful records from churches in Goa. Most of the records are in Portuguese & Marathi (Modi) though quite a few documents are also in Sanskrit, Persian, English, French & Vietnamese. There are some Canarese records in the Goykanadi script, though the language is Marathi. There are also Swahili letters penned almost 300 years ago which comprise the oldest corpus of Swahili prose so far discovered.

DOAA is open for all, for research purpose only. The material from the library is not for lending. Research worker has to visit personally to collect data. 

Access to Recodrs

Directorate of Archives and Archeology Ourem Road, Mala, Panaji 403001