South African History Archive

WEBSITE

Website Link:
https://www.saha.org.za/index.htm

Collection Link:

TIMING

Monday to Saturday, 10:00 am to 06:00 pm excluding public holidays.

Need Help !

I hope this helps in making use of this Archive a little easier! If you have any questions, you are than welcome to email me –anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in

CONTACT DETAILS

Phone:

Email: arianna@saha.org.za

PREPARED BY:

Anupama Verma

Librarians

M Madhan

Library Director
madhan@jgu.edu.in
130 1845

Anupama Verma

Assistant Manager
anupamaverma@jgu.edu.in
130

INTRODUCTION

Are you interested to know about the history and struggles of South African? We will suggest you go through the South African History Archive (SAHA). You may find it more interesting.

The South African History Archive (SAHA) is an independent human rights archive dedicated to documenting, supporting and promoting greater awareness of past and contemporary struggles for justice through archival practices and outreach, and the utilisation of access to information laws.
Established by anti-apartheid activists in the 1980s, SAHA was closely connected in its formative years to the United Democratic Front, the Congress of South African Trade Unions and the African National Congress. SAHA is now politically non-aligned, committed to:

Recapturing lost and neglected histories;
Recording aspects of South African democracy in the making;
Bringing history out of the archives and into schools, universities and communities in new and innovative ways;
Extending the boundaries of freedom of information in South Africa;
Raise awareness, both nationally and internationally, of the role of archives and documentation in promoting and defending human rights.

COLLECTION

SAHA’s archival collections feature documents, posters, photographs, ephemera, and oral histories donated by those involved in South Africa’s justice struggles. These include major collections on the anti-apartheid movement, the United Democratic Front (UDF), and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC). The archive also includes materials from SAHA’s work with freedom of information legislation, and its oral history, education, heritage, and outreach projects.

Most of our collections are paper-based and can be accessed only at our Johannesburg office. However, a selection of digitized documents, posters, and photographs is available on our website. Additional digitized South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission materials can be found on the Traces of Truth website, and key liberation struggle archives are accessible for educational and non-commercial use on the DISA website.

Projects & Outreach

SAHA has been involved in a number of outreach and documentation projects aimed at capturing, collecting, organising and disseminating South African history in new and innovative ways, ensuring that South Africans are able to access information to exercise or protect their rights, in line with our Constitution.

Ongoing training and networking projects include:

FOIP Capacity Building Project
National PAIA Civil Society Network
Workshops for history educators
PAIA Tracker System

Current research, documentation and archiving projects include:

#TRC20 - The Battle Against Forgetting series of events (2016)
Archiving the Constitution Project
Land Act 1913 Legacy Project
Tracing the Unbreakable Thread - Non-racialism in South African
Right to Truth project:
Images of Defiance - 25 years on

ACCESSIBILITY AND MEMBERSHIP

Researchers and academics who wish to consult our records can contact us vai email

SUBJECT COVERAGE

PUBLICATION

the SAHA Struggles for Justice Programme Catalogue for 2017**

ADDRESS

Wits History Workshop, Room 217, 2nd Floor, Robert Sobukwe Block., South Africa

MAP

South African History Archive Social Media handle

JGU Library is not liable for violating the Copyrights. We are trying to guide you on how to access and use the archives.